CONTACT US TO SCHEDULE YOUR PRIVATE LESSONS
Driver's education should be viewed in (3) three phases. Your son/daughter is enrolling in phase I, the Educational Phase. Students are required to attend 30 hours of classroom training. At NSDS, our training consists of (10) ten three hour blocks. Each block or module, will consist of a specific topic to include MN law as it relates to the topic. If a student cannot attend a particular module or class at the time it is offered, the student will need to attend another class in which that module will be again offered. A student must attend all 10 modules, however; they need not be consecutive. Schedules will be will be handed out for future classes in 2nd week of class for those students. We will make every effort to help your students complete all 10 modules if personal schedules conflict with driver's education schedule. If this pertains to your son or daughter, please contact our school administrator to review class schedule. Minnesota law clearly states 30 hours of training is required, therefore please ensure your son/daughter will not be tardy for the duration of the class.
It is our hope students will be motivated to receive drivers training. Therefore our goal is to provide a positive learning environment for all students. Continuous horseplay and disruptive behavior will not be tolerated. Parents/Guardians may be notified to remove students from class. Credit for that particular module will not be given to the student.
Minnesota Statutes states, students must receive 30 hours classroom training, must be 15 years old, must pass a knowledge test and be enrolled in a behind-the-wheel training program to receive permit to drive in Phase II of driver education. Our behind the wheel-training program consists of 3 two-hour private (one-on-one) training sessions. Students will be picked up at home or school according to students and parents preference. The same applies to return of student following the lesson.
Students may decide to take BTW training with any approved driving school, however student must notify school administrator prior to graduation. The state requires notification of a student's intent of BTW training, prior to issuance of permit.
We find if students schedule their BTW's over a longer period of time, it is most beneficial. We have already scheduled your child's BTW #1 lesson within (2) weeks of receiving permit. This will help you significantly and will allow us to ensure students are practicing techniques learned in classroom. We are requesting that the students complete their BTW lessons within 6 months of their first BTW. No refunds can be given after six months has expired. Final payment for the BTW phase II will not be due until the second BTW lesson, or if need be, we can make arrangements for payment, Just speak to Vicki privately.
Students are encourages to drive as often as possible with parents or guardians. It is required students have 30 hours of practice driving, (in addition to 6 hrs required with a professional school). Ten (10) of these 30 hours must be at night.
Once student has held permit 6 months, is 16 years old, has completed 6 hrs BTW training, has had minimum 30 hours practice driving with an adult age 21 or older (instruction must be given in the front seat). Student is eligible for Phase III or driver's license. Students are allowed to drive independently however restrictions apply such as NO more than one moving violation, cell phones are NOT allowed during Phase I or Phase II while driving, No drug or alcohol related offenses allowed. *Restrictions: Provisional drivers are subject to nighttime and passenger limitations. During the first six months of licensure, driving is prohibited from midnight until 5:00am. No more than one passenger under age of 20 is permitted, unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.
We hope the driver's education experience will be a positive one and if there is anything we can do to improve, or help, please feel free to contact us. Again, we thank you for choosing Northstar Driving School.